The First Week Emotional Rollercoaster


I’ve tried to publish this for over a month, but have had no time.

When I thought about it, I realized that the emotional roller coaster of the first week of school could be used to describe ANY day/week/month/year in a teacher’s life.

And then I realized, I didn’t need to explain the “why” of any of the emotions/feelings listed because THE “WHY” DID NOT MATTER.

It is what makes being a teacher different.  Our job is a rollercoaster of emotions because we care so deeply about what we do and who we do it for.

So here is the rollercoaster of the first/last/middle day/week/month/year of school

Sleepiness,Pride, incredulous, stress, silliness, amusement, terror, comfort, “There’s no time!”, stress, “in the zone”, extreme embarrassment, “Oh well”, stress, nervous laughter, contentment, aggravation, happiness, irked,   “YES!”, exhaustion…

Can you spot the point of the week where,during class, I ripped my pants from hip to knee halfway through the day?

And I kept teaching after grabbing the stapler…

 

Leave a Reply

